Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters (St Petersburg)

letters

St Petersburg, Russia

Drinking coffee in a beautiful Russian cafe, I picked up a newspaper and began to slowly decipher the words I knew. In light of my recent travels to Russia, I couldn’t resist putting a photo of the Cyrillic alphabet in response to this prompt, as I find Cyrillic even more beautiful than the Latin alphabet. Cyrillic was named after the saint brothers Cyril and Methodius who are generally given credit as the creators of the Glagolithic alphabet, which eventually developed into the Cyrillic (by way of the Greek alphabet), bringing literacy to the Russian people. Today, over 250 million people use the script as their official alphabet, primarily in Russia and other nearby countries. Despite what it might seem, learning to read Cyrillic is not terribly difficult…the 3 genders, 6 cases, and difficult pronunciation is what makes learning Russian hard–although that’s no reason not to try!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Letters (St Petersburg)

    • I’ve had to put my Russian classes on hold–partly because I was focusing on Spanish as I spent the summer working in Spain–and partly because they were costly. But I’m hoping to get back to learning sometime soon! I love the language and alphabet. Best of luck!

Join the discussion!

