Brunico, Italy

brunicoitaly-edit

Brunico (0r Bruneck), Italy

Thundering waves churn past the narrow shores of the little Italian city of Brunico. Just a blimp on the map of quaint, charming Italian cities, Brunico holds its own in the northeastern corner of the Boot. Deep in the Italian Dolomites with the towering silhouette of its squat castle gazing down from the mountaintops, Brunico is only a short drive from both Austria and Slovenia. While this all helps to spotlight this town, none of this is what adds the extra something special to Brunico’s recipe. Brunico – or Bruneck in German – is a town without a country, a town of many languages and cultures, a town plastered onto a multi-cultural lining. For nearly all of its history, Brunico was Germanic. Founded by a baron called – wait for it – Bruno (von Kirchberg) in the early 1200s, the town remained Germanic until the end of WWI, when shifting barriers pushed the region of South Tyrol (including Bruneck) down into Italian territory, where it was re-baptised under an Italian name, Brunico. It is, therefore, an Italian town that is, in effect, Germanic in all but name. The interesting result is a multi-cultural colouring that leaves the city with a dual nationality, which manifests in language, names, gastronomy, architecture and personality.

brunic

*Map from Wikipedia

6 thoughts on “Brunico, Italy

    • Glad I could cheer you up! I remember having many of those long, cold days in Poland myself! But at the end of the day, despite the cold, I fell in love with Poland due to its people, its traditions, its pierogies and Zywiec and nalesniki, not to mention its cities like Warszawa, Krakow, Poznan, Wroclaw, Lublin, Gdansk, and the Beskid/Tatras Mountains in the south… one of my favorite countries!!! 🙂

      • It is a great country indeed, Alba Marie. I’ve been living here since 3 years and the culture, traditions, history is just so ample here. Great cities, and perhaps what’s the best is that country has both mountains and coastline with nice beaches. Where in Poland did u live? I live in the central and less known city of Lodz 🙂 But Gdansk is my favorite! 😀

        • I lived in Warsaw for a year where I was an English teacher for tiny children, and I also worked at a language camp in the Łódzkie voivodeship (near Wielun) for a month over the summer. 3 years is a long time, wow!! I visited Łódz and I admit, it’s not my favorite, but I love Poland as a whole. I don’t really have a favorite, but aside from Warsaw, I really like Wroclaw and Torun (pierniki!!), and Marlbork Castle is awesome! Loved hiking in the Beskids too.

Join the discussion!

